| 2025 SPORT FISH BUSINESS OWNER/GUIDE   |  |
|--|--|
| <b>RENEWAL REGISTRATION APPLICATION</b>  | Registration #   |
| Alaska Department of Fish and Game / Division of Sport Fish - RTS<br>333 Raspberry Road, Anchorage, Alaska 99518-1565<br>Telephone: (907) 267-2369 or (907) 267-2299<br>http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=prolicenses.sportfishguides  | TO BE ASSIGNED   |
| CHECK ONE:   | Check if you have registered<br>in previous years  |
| Guide Only Registration (complete sections A and C)  | This is a renewal registration application only.   |
| Business Owner Registration (complete sections A and B)  | Complete this application and<br>return it to the Anchorage<br>Fish & Game address located<br>at the top of this form. |
| Combined Business/Guide Registration* (complete sections A, B, and C)  |  |
| *An agent for a business cannot apply as a guide on a Combined Business/Guide Registration.  | Allow 21 days for processing.  |
| INSTRUCTIONS ON BACK OF FORM   |  |
| SECTION A: ALL APPLICANTS COMPLETE THIS SECTION  |  |
| Name of Business Owner or Guide:   | MI   |
| Permanent Mailing Address:   | 1911   |
| PO Box or Street Address City Stat   | re Zip   |
| Telephone Number:      In-Season Telephone Number:   |  |
| Mail Card Here:<br>(If different than permanent) PO Box or Street Address City St  | ate Zip  |
| Email Address: Your Registration Card(s) will be   Please email dfg.dsf.guides@ala if you would like a hardcopy of y   | ska.gov or call (907) 267-2369   |
| SECTION B: TO BE COMPLETED BY THE BUSINESS OWNER OR THEIR AGENT  |  |
| <b><u>BUSINESS INFORMATION</u></b> : An agent for a business cannot apply as a guide on a Combined Business/Guide Registration.  |  |
| Name of Business:  |  |
| State of Alaska Business License Number: Expiration D  | ate: <u>Mo/Date/Yr</u>   |
| Name of Business Owner:  |  |
| *Saltwater operators: Please obtain logbooks for your business from an ADF&G office prior to commencing guiding activities.<br>*Freshwater operators: Remember to register ALL your vessels with ADF&G prior to commencing guiding activities.   |  |
| SECTION C: TO BE COMPLETED BY THE GUIDE OR THEIR AGENT   |  |
| 2025 Alaska Sport Fishing License #: Date of Birth: Date/Yr  |  |
| SIGNATURE OF BUSINESS OWNER/AGENT or GUIDE:  |  |
| I hereby certify that all information is true and correct and that I understand this information is subject to public disclosure.<br>(NOTE: Making a false statement or omitting a material fact, is subject to a maximum penalty of \$10,000 or 1 year imprisonment, or both, per AS 11.56.210.) You are not allowed to operate until you receive your 2025 registration card |  |
| X Circle one: Applicant or Agent   | Date: <u>Mo/Date/Yr</u>  |



## INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE 2025 SPORT FISH BUSINESS OWNER/GUIDE RENEWAL REGISTRATION APPLICATION

Attention: The following will apply without exception:

- 1. All applicable sections of the registration must be complete and legible prior to ADF&G validation. No "pending," "unknowns," or blanks will be accepted.
- 2. Incomplete registration forms will be returned, resulting in a processing delay.
- 3. A signature is required.
- 4. This is a registration application only. Your wallet-sized registration <u>card(s) will be emailed within 21</u> <u>days.</u> You may reply to the email to request a hard copy, which will be mailed to you within 2 business days.
- 5. There may be additional state and federal requirements to operate as a business or guide. It is your responsibility to determine what those requirements are.

# **INSTRUCTIONS:**

#### SECTION A: <u>ALL</u> applicants must complete this section.

**SECTION B: BUSINESS OWNER OR THEIR AGENT:** Complete this section if you are the owner/agent of the sport fishing business. This section should be filled out even if the owner does not intend to personally guide clients. An agent for this business **CANNOT** apply as a guide on the same registration. A separate registration application must be submitted.

### **IMPORTANT NOTICE TO BUSINESS OWNERS**

State regulation (5 AAC 75.075) requires all business owners providing sport fishing guide services in Alaska to register with the Department of Fish and Game <u>before</u> guiding services begin. All business owners are required to register all charter vessels with ADF&G prior to commencement of guiding activities. Saltwater operators are also required to acquire logbook(s) before starting guiding operations. *Guides must have a copy of the business owner's ADF&G business registration in their possession while guiding.* 

**SECTION C: GUIDES:** Complete this section if you intend to guide for a sport fish operation owned by someone other than you, or if you are a business owner who also intends to guide (owner/operator).

**U.S. COAST GUARD OPERATOR'S LICENSE:** A registered sport fish guide operating a motorized vessel with clients or transporting clients in a motorized vessel on navigable waters must have a U.S.C.G. operator's license in their possession. If you are not sure of the particular U.S.C.G. operator's license you need, you can contact U.S.C.G. at (907) 271-6736 (option 5). To check on navigable waters, call U.S.C.G. at (907) 428-4200 (option 4 – Protection) then (option 5 – Waterways).

### **IMPORTANT NOTICE TO GUIDES**

State regulation (5 AAC 75.075) requires all guides providing sport fishing guide services in Alaska to register with the Department of Fish and Game *before* guiding activities begin.

### WHAT A GUIDE MUST HAVE IN POSSESSION WHILE GUIDING

A sport fish business owner or guide should be able to present all documents required for registration upon request by a representative of the Department of Fish and Game, peace officer of the state, or law enforcement representative of the National Marine Fisheries Service. While engaged in sport fishing guide services, a sport fishing guide shall have the following readily available for inspection.

- A current sport fishing guide registration;
- A copy of the current ADF&G sport fishing business registration of the guide's employer;
- A current Alaska sport fishing license and applicable tags, stamps, or permits that are required to engage in the sport fishery for which the guide services are being provided;
- An identification card issued to the sport fishing guide by a state or federal agency that bears a photo of the sport fishing guide;
- If operating in saltwater, a current years' logbook (paper or electronic)